New Writer Crushes

16 Jun


The Summer issue of Midwestern Gothic is due out in a few weeks. I’ve seen a preview, and it’s fantastic. They kindly published a poem of mine, but even better than that, I now have a slew of new Writer Crushes. It’s true I’m pretty easy, but these people rock.

Nina Badzin is a writer, momma and wife, so naturally I enjoy her work. Her blog is beautiful, honest and well-written. May I recommend her post “New Writer Finds Readers”? It’s about resisting lit mag snobbery and having the guts to shoot far and wide. Pretty inspiring.

Chad Simpson is another writer and English prof whose publication list seems to grow daily. He blogs about every angle of the writing life — from idea generation to publication, with teaching and speaking thrown in. Add in his wife Jane Carlson’s frankly stunning photography, and there’s a lot here to admire here.

Nancy Devine is an educator and holy-cow-prolific writer whose blog is packed with personal thoughts, musings on writing, creativity and work, and a blog roll to die for. Her site’s so huge, I’ve seen but a teeny-bit of it, which is good. Lots to explore.

I think I may have an actual crush on Eden Baylee, who writes female-friendly (but by no means soft focus) erotica and erotic romance with originality, creativity and style. Her blog is not exclusively focused on writing erotica (although there’s some of that), but on writing in general with interviews, links and music. It’s an adult site though, so you know, NSFW, but definitely check it out.

I know I have an actual crush on Robert James Russell. (I’m trying to convince myself he’s less compelling in person, like maybe he doesn’t shower much, or hates puppies or something.) Russell co-founded Midwestern Gothic with Jeff Pfaller, and I really, really dig his blog. He edits, writes poetry, fiction and comics, and co-founded the indie comics press Saint James Comics. His blog is eclectic and dorky and funny. Plus he has awesome taste in music.

As I mentioned, Jeff Pfaller co-founded MG with Russell. He is also involved with Saint James Comics, and writes comics and fiction and these funny little “Napkin Haiku Reviews.” Plus he seems to also do design or content (or both) as a day job, which I admire, because if I had a day job, I wouldn’t write a damn thing (see the last 10 years.)

These are just a few of the wonderful writers involved with MG, and I’ll post more links as I make my way through the issue. I hope you’ll check it out when it’s finally available, so you can get all crush-y too.

6 Responses to “New Writer Crushes”

  1. Nina Badzin June 16, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    Thank you so much! And what a wonderful round-up of writers to check out. I look forward to poking around all their sites and getting my hands on a gorgeous print copy of Midwestern Gothic. Congrats on the poem publication. I haven’t looked through the digital preview yet, but I plan to read it all this weekend. Thanks again for the very generous mention here. Nina :)

  2. Melissa B June 16, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    what a nice assortment of writers to learn about. I was expecially encouraged by Nina, offering encouragement to us non MFA, non-english college majors. We can write and be considered worthy if we do it well enough. Thanks for the bright spot in my day.

  3. RJR June 17, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Great to have you all involved with MG! Great, great issue!

  4. eden baylee June 17, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Author crushes! That’s the sweetest thing I’ve heard in a long time. I’m thrilled to be included in this wonderful group of writers.
    Thanks so much Darlene, and congratulations on having your poetry published by MWG. It is a stunning magazine to be a part of.

    eden

  5. Djinnjer June 18, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    You = adorable. Congrats on the poem!

  6. Darlene June 20, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Thanks everyone! I have really been enjoying meeting all these new writers, particularly via twitter, and I already have a stack of new blogs to comment on.

Comments are closed.

